Dear Cleo 17 04 13

 

Dearest Cleo

Well I know you are in Dorset now and I hope you spent the day on the beach at Weymouth I remember it well from when I was a boy and I was there more recently with your Mum and Aunty Loz. Enjoy it well and I know you won’t forget to send me a postcard.

Me, I have had a traumatic but enjoyable few days mostly centred around my Google hangout with my tutor, it involved a lot of writing and much thinking but tonight I have relaxed and created the final drawing for project one of part two of the course.

Figure 1 (17 04 12) Elvis has left the Apollo, Charcoal on A2 200lb hot pressed watercolour paper

The Apollo was a good well behaved and very still model and surprisingly easy to draw, the watercolour paper was a good choice, it was robust and had a wonderful textural quality when combined with the charcoal. I went with a mid grey charcoal ground adding the darks after sculpting the piece with the putty rubber. It was good to work on a larger scale drawing and I am pleased that the drawing has a variety of mark making and texture and I think it has a sense of energy and vibration.

Consciously working without line with a classical sculpture is difficult, especially as the original artist has accentuated the linear forms in the hair and clothing to contrast with the organic rounded flesh forms. The drawing took maybe two and a half hours; I shudder to think how long it took the original artist to sculpt this.

The objectives? There is a definite sense of space between the figure and the ground, it is kept shallow by the cast shadow to the right of the head. Depth is most obvious in the sculpted forms of the head and clothing and there is a definite sense of volume in the form.

I think I have also added a fourth dimension, time. Drawing from the cast is an age old artistic technique with a timeless quality. I have pinned it to the wall next to the print of Raphael’s apostles that I got from the Ashmolean and to be honest it doesn’t sit too bad. But I can remember seeing Raphael’s original while I was at the Ashmolean so I know how deficient my drawing is.

Well girl, that is it for this week, I am going to see mum and dad for the long weekend and I look forward to seeing you when you return from Dorset.

Love

Mickos x

PS in case you missed it earlier

http://www.ashmolean.org/ash/objects/makedetail.php?pmu=770&mu=772&gty=asea&dtn=15&sfn=Title&rpos=124&art=Raphael

Leave a Reply

